Sunday, August 4, 2013

ICC Intercontinental Cup 2013

ICC Intercontinental Cup Live

Most of the fans from the International test playing nations of cricket may not be aware of the ICC Intercontinental Cup. This cup made its debut in 2004 and it gives exposure to the leading Associates in the longer version of first class cricket. Sans the 2010 ICC Intercontinental Cup, all the other cups were won by the European Associate countries. In 2010, Afghanistan emerged as winners. Let us have a look at some more details of this cup.

ICC Intercontinental Cup winners so far:
Scotland - 2004
Ireland - 2005
Ireland - 2006-07
Ireland - 2007-08
Afghanistan - 2009-10

The associate countries cricket teams strive hard to make a mark in the Intercontinental Cup with a dream of acquiring a promotion to International Test Cricket. With very few matches left for the season of 2011-13, we are soon going to get a new winner. At this moment the four leading nations in the points tally are Ireland, Scotland, Afghanistan and Namibia. They are followed by other four teams in the order of Kenya, Netherlands, UAE and Canada. 

If we have a look at some of the individual stats for 2011-13, so far the most runs are scored by Khurram Khan from UAE. He scored 504 runs in 9 innings with an average of 63. He has two tons and two half centuries to his name in 2011-13.

The bowler with most wickets in 2011-13 Intercontinental Cup so far has been C Viljoen from Namibia. He clinched 34 wickets in 10 innings. His best bowling figures were 7 wickets for 61 runs. 

The highest individual score was 201 not out by G Snyman. He plays for Namibia and he scored this double ton against Kenya. He scored this 201 runs in 192 balls with 22 boundaries and 7 sixes.

Best bowling figures in a match went to Varaiya from Kenya who took 12 wickets against Ireland giving away just 73 runs.

Let us look forward to similar such good cricket from these nations who rightly deserve to be a part of International cricket some day.

No comments:

Post a Comment